Yngwie J. Malmsteen "Odyssey"

Yngwie J. Malmsteen "Odyssey"

album cover

Yngwie J. Malmsteen
The Story
"Odyssey" takes Yngwie J. Malmsteen and band into material with a slightly more commercial bent than Malmsteen's first three albums. This is probably due to working with singer Joe Lynn Turner (ex-Rainbow), who wrote the lyrics and infused his own brand of romanticism, as well as producer/engineer Jeff Glixman. "Odyssey", nevertheless, has some great guitar work (the solo in "Rising Force" is an absolute classic), and features instrumentals such as "Bite The Bullet", "Krakatau" and "Memories". "Riot In The Dungeons" and "Faster Than The Speed Of Light" are some of the heavier vocal numbers - tunes which give Malmsteen plenty of space to burn up the frets with arpeggios and general melodic frenzy.
The Music
04:05 Rising Force Vocal
05:11 Hold On Vocal
04:06 Heaven Tonight Vocal
05:19 Dreaming (Tell Me) Vocal
01:36 Bite The Bullet Instrumental
04:22 Riot In The Dungeons Vocal
04:17 Deja Vu Vocal
04:55 Crystal Ball Vocal
04:34 Now Is The Time Vocal
04:30 Faster Than The Speed Of Light Vocal
06:08 Krakatau Instrumental
01:14 Memories Instrumental
The Artists
Yngwie J. Malmsteen All Electric and Acoustic Guitars, Bass, Production
Joe Lynn Turner Vocals
Jens Johansson All Keyboards
Bob Daisley Bass
Anders Johansson Drums
Jeff Glixman Production, Engineering
Steve Thompson Mixing
Mike Barbiero Mixing
Jim Lewis Executive Production
Scott Gordon Engineering Assistance
John Rollo Engineering
George Cowan Mixing Assistance
Mark Weiss Photography
Michael Bays Art Direction
Pat Drosins Art Direction
Chris Thompson Design
Recorded and mixed at Cherokee, Los Angeles.

Various vocals recorded at House Of Music.

Mixed at Bearsville Studios.

Additional recording at Studio D, Austin.