Michael Lee Firkins "Michael Lee Firkins"

Michael Lee Firkins "Michael Lee Firkins"

album cover

Michael Lee Firkins
Michael Lee Firkins
The Story
"Michael Lee Firkins" is the self-titled debut album from a genuine guitar monster from America's heartland, whose time to wail in the sun has arrived. This CD absoutely cooks from beginning to end, Firkins being backed up by the big time groove of ex-Dokken bassist Jeff Pilson and MSG/Scorpion's drummer James Kottak. "Michael Lee Firkins" features Firkins stylistic blues techniques, including his uncanny way of emulating the slide guitar with his whammy bar. This album has become essential listening for guitarists around the globe, and is a testament to originality and heart.
The Music
04:20 Laughing Stacks Instrumental
04:36 24 Grand Avenue Instrumental
03:07 Runaway Train Instrumental
03:28 Cactus Cruz Instrumental
06:26 Deja Blues Instrumental
03:44 Space Crickets Instrumental
05:23 Rain In The Tunnel Instrumental
03:50 Hula Hoops Instrumental
05:25 The Sargasso Sea Instrumental
The Artists
Michael Lee Firkins Guitars
Jeff Pilson Bass
James Kottak Drums
Mike Varney Production
Steve Fontano Production, Engineering
Joe Marquez Engineering Assistance
Marc Reyburn Engineering Assistance
Mooka Rennick Mixing Assistance, Bass on "Sargasso Sea"
Stuart Hirotsu Mixing Assistance
George Horn Mastering
Pat Johnson Photography
Peter Morticelli Personal Management
All songs written by Michael Lee Firkins.

No form of keyboards or synthesizers were used on this album. Michael Lee Firkins does not play slide guitar on any cuts.

Recorded and mixed at Prarie Sun Studios in Cotati, CA during November, 1989.

Mastered at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, CA.