Megadeth "The System Has Failed"

Megadeth "The System Has Failed"

album cover

The System Has Failed
The Story
This is not a return to form. This is not a comeback album. This is, simply, the finest, heaviest, most brutal and punishing Megadeth album Dave Mustaine has ever recorded. Having suffered a debilitating nerve injury in his hand two years ago, Megadeth's future was in serious limbo. Yet "The System Has Failed" returns Megadeth to the top of heavy metal's ruling class. This is Megadeth's crowning achievement. "The System Has Failed" begins with a kick to the aural senses with "Blackmail The Universe" and does not let up for the next 63 minutes. This is not a heavy metal album in the purest sense. Guitar solos (courtesy of original Megadeth guitarist Chris Poland) that defy technical logic, time signature changes that leave the mind reeling, and melodic sensibilities that make this the must have metal album of the year.
The Music
04:33 Blackmail The Universe Vocal
04:18 Die Dead Enough Vocal
03:57 Kick The Chair Vocal
05:59 The Scorpion Vocal
05:21 Tears In A Vial Vocal
00:40 I Know Jack Vocal
03:27 Back In The Day Vocal
05:07 Something That I'm Not Vocal
05:40 Truth Be Told Vocal
04:04 Of Mice And Men Vocal
02:15 Shadow Of Deth Vocal
03:03 My Kingdom Vocal
The Artists
Dave Mustaine Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar, Lead Vocals, Production, Engineering, Cover Concept
Chris Poland Lead Guitar
Vinnie Colaiuta Drums
Jimmie Lee Sloas Bass
Celeste Amber Montague Additional Voice
Chris Rodriguez Background Vocals
Eric Darken Percussion
Tim Akers Keyboards
Darien Bennett Additional Voice
Ralph Patian Additional Voice, Additional Vocals, Engineering Assistance
Michael Davis Sound Effects
Charlie Judge Keyboards
Lance Dean Additional Vocals, Engineering Assistance
Robert Venable Additional Vocals
Jonathan Yudkin Strings, Banjo
Scott Harrison Background Vocals
Justin Mustaine Background Spoken Part
Jeff Balding Engineering, Production, Mixing
David Bryant Additional Engineering, Engineering Assistance
Jed Hackett Additional Engineering, Engineering Assistance, Digital Editing
John Saylor Additional Engineering
Jesse Amend Engineering Assistance
Scott Kidd Engineering Assistance
Adam Ayan Mastering
Mark Hagen Digital Editing
Mike Griffith Production Coordination
Mike Learn Cover Art
Recorded at Oceanway and Emerald Entertainment, Nashville, TN, and additional recording at Phase Four Studios, Tempe, AZ.

Mixed at Emerald Entertainment, Nashville, TN.

Mastered at Gateway Mastering & DVD, Portland, Maine.

Design by t42design.