Dream Theater "Falling Into Infinity"

Dream Theater "Falling Into Infinity"

album cover

Dream Theater
Falling Into Infinity
The Story
Dream Theater explores progressive metal on their 1997 release, "Falling Into Infinity", produced, engineered and mixed by Kevin Shirley and featuring keyboardist Derek Sherinian. Songs such as "Just Let Me Breathe" or "Burning My Soul" rock hard in the spirit of the band's CD "Awake", while many consider the three-part opus "Trial of Tears" to be among the band's finest compositions. The opening track, "New Millennium" is another standout - an eight minute progressive workout, in which guitarist John Petrucci and Sherinian both get to show what they are made of. A must have for Dream Theater fans, and worth a look for progressive fans in general.
The Music
08:20 New Millennium Vocal
05:53 You Not Me Vocal
06:43 Peruvian Skies Vocal
05:53 Hollow Years Vocal
05:29 Burning My Soul Vocal
04:16 Hell's Kitchen Vocal
12:05 Lines In The Sand Vocal
06:03 Take Away My Pain Vocal
05:28 Just Let Me Breathe Vocal
05:51 Anna Lee Vocal
13:07 Trial Of Tears Vocal
The Artists
John Petrucci Guitars, Background Vocals
Mike Portnoy Drums, Percussion, Background Vocals
Derek Sherinian Keyboards, Background Vocals
John Myung Bass, Chapman Stick
James LaBrie Lead and Background Vocals
Doug Pinnick Guest Vocals on "Lines In The Sand"
Kevin Shirley Production, Engineering, Mixing
Rich Alvy Engineering Assistance
Barbara Lipke Engineering Assistance
Dave Swope Mixing Assistance
Leon Zervos Mastering
Storm Thorgerson Design
Peter Curzon Design
Sam Brooks Design
Tony May Photography
Paul La Raja Group Photography
Recorded and mixed at Avatar Studios, NYC, June and July 1997.

Additional mixing at Sony Studios, NYC.

Pre-production at Prince Studios, NYC.

Mastered at Absolute Audio, NYC.